RP and you

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

MJmalevolent

RP and you

Post by MJmalevolent » Tue Jan 07, 2020 4:50 am

Hello my fine friends!
I'm making this topic just to make known some of my thoughts about how to RP good. By RP, I mean individual, in the moment strategies to take in order to engage with and entertain your compatriots you meet in arelith. I'm not talking about faction politics or even creating RP events and adventures, just the little things!
First, however, know that I've been playing Arelith for about a year now, and it's made up most of my RP experience, so I'm still a rookie really. I don't want to come off as all high-and-mighty, so just know that these are but my thoughts, and I'd love to hear what y'all think and the strategies you use!

In no particular order:
1. Be ready to be vulnerable. Your character is awesome, yes. A skilled, capable individual, probably. But I've found that sometimes, it's better to lose an argument. To have your character seethe in frustration as you let someone else have the last laugh is often more entertaining than quickly dishing out another quip. Let your character be scared, let them hesitate, or if they aren't the type to do that, let them blunder. You don't need to always win, to always be the most valiant and honorable. It's alright, and much more fun sometimes, to be vulnerable.