How to be a Fun Villain

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

Aradin
Arelith Silver Supporter
Arelith Silver Supporter

How to be a Fun Villain

Post by Aradin » Mon Nov 16, 2020 3:57 am

Recently I've started my first foray into creating a plotline that has me lined up as the antagonist to some good-aligned characters. I've never done something like this before and am having fun so far. That said I've played on Arelith long enough to know that any conflict can leave a sour taste in the mouths of the players who are forced to deal with such antagonists.

So I'm looking for some tips and opinions from all folks on what makes an enjoyable antagonist. There are other threads that touch on this and I've read them all, taking certain lessons to heart: putting the story first, being willing to lose without 'trying' to lose to the good guys, checking in with people OOC during and after tense situations, offering flexibility when it comes to PVP, etc. But the more advice the merrier!

I'm also looking for ideas/inspiration for antagonistic actions to take that don't involve PVP. Do you remember a time when Cordor Jim blackmailed a politician and generated some fun situations for other citizens? Do you remember when Necromancer Suzie defiled gravesites and stirred up some enjoyable RP for her paladin foes with that? That's the stuff I'd love to hear about - conflict without direct fighting.

Thanks for any and all offerings!

Was Lloyd Grimm, Sai Aung-K'yi, Stink Spellworped, Ikarus, and Revyn the White.

Royal Blood

Re: How to be a Fun Villain

Post by Royal Blood » Mon Nov 16, 2020 5:11 am

I think there are a lot of interesting plots that could be considered from the angle of trying to 'do good' but using something nefarious to do so. Like maybe there is an argument to be made for the animation of corpses if it spares the living from having to die.