Fixing UV/Darkness bug

An area to facilitate free-form feedback on systems (in-game or out) related to Arelith.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs, Contributors

KeldonDonovans

Fixing UV/Darkness bug

Post by KeldonDonovans » Sun Nov 22, 2020 7:50 pm

So I received a message informing me that the "UV bug" where everything turns invisible when UV wears off (but not reliably) is actually a bug with how the spell interacts with darkness. So I suggested a few alternative methods of fixing the bug, only to find out the people who PM'd me aren't affiliated with the Dev team, and would have no way of implementing said suggestions. So I figured I'd start a thread to help out. I worked as a programmer for years, and found out that some of the time the best ideas come from people who don't know what they are talking about, so hopefully, if nothing in here works, it at least sparks an idea in a developer that does work.

Idea 1: Create a spell (DarknessJunior) that is just a copy/pasted version of darkness with two exceptions. First, reduce the radius to a size so small it only envelopes the target, and nobody else. Second, reduce the duration as much as possible, just long enough for the character to register that they are in darkness. Finally, add to the UV script so that, when the spell wears off, it applies this "DarknessJunior" spell to the creature it wore off of. I have tested IG to see if casting Darkness on someone under the effects of the UV bug fixes the bug, and it does when the spell expires, so theoretically, if this is possible, it should work. And luckily, it doesn't even break immersion, it could simply be RP'd as your eyes adjusting to the sudden lack of magical vision.

Idea 2: Create a -command such as (-UVbug) that checks if the user is blind, in darkness, or any other sight-effecting spells, and, if they are not, refreshes the user's vision.