Selune a Nature Goddess?

You have questions? We may have answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

Beauty is the Beast

Selune a Nature Goddess?

Post by Beauty is the Beast » Sun Jan 16, 2022 10:48 pm

Is Selune a Nature goddess that Druids can use as a nature deity? I know because she is the moon and the moon controls the tides, I believe that's one of the reasons that Umberlee and her are enemies. (Probably wrong as I'm not an expert in FR.)

I know she is the Goddess for Good aligned lycans much like Malar is for evil Lycans. She's also obviously the Goddess for nocturnal animals like Owls etc.

I might be wrong so I thought I would ask.

Rei_Jin
Arelith Silver Supporter
Arelith Silver Supporter

Re: Selune a Nature Goddess?

Post by Rei_Jin » Sun Jan 16, 2022 11:24 pm

All the "Nature" gods and goddesses are listed here (http://wiki.nwnarelith.com/Category:Deities_of_Nature), and Selûne isn't listed there.

Furthermore, under the listing for Selûne on the wiki (http://wiki.nwnarelith.com/Selune) it does not say that druids can worship her and still access their spells (some deities have exemptions like this).

So, the Wiki seems to indicate no.

MissEvelyn
Arelith Silver Supporter
Arelith Silver Supporter

Post by MissEvelyn » Sun Jan 16, 2022 11:39 pm

It seems a bit odd that Selûne isn't included as a druid deity, given that the 3.5 supplement Player's Guide to Faerûn let's druids (as well as rangers and clerics) pick the feat Initiate of Selûne.
Player's Guide to Faerûn 3.5, page 81-82 wrote: Initiate of Selûne [Initiate]

You have been initiated into the greatest secrets of Selûne's church.

Prerequisites: Cleric, druid, hathran or ranger level 3rd, patron deity Selûne.

In contrast, only Clerics can pick Initiate of Mystra, along with most of the other feats. Only the nature deities allow druids and rangers to pick those feats as well. Which includes Selûne.

Distant Relation

Post by Distant Relation » Mon Jan 17, 2022 3:54 am