Question about Ships vs Quarters

You have questions? We may have answers.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

Melchizedek14

Question about Ships vs Quarters

Post by Melchizedek14 » Thu Jan 26, 2023 4:04 pm

I'm new to sailing and figuring it out. As such, I have questions...

1. Can I own a quarter and a ship? If not, I'm allowed to rent a ship, right? How long can I keep the rental?
  2. Can you own a ship and rent a ship?
  3. What happens to the permanent storage on a ship when it sinks?
  4. If you're boarded by other players, does the 1 item theft rule apply or can they take everything you've got?
  5. A ship I was on sank in a storm. The storm had a DC of 60! Did I hit a hurricane or are they all that strong? Does the storm damage roll use total crew skill or average crew skill?
  6. Are there only the two ships in the Underdark? The Dreadnaught and the Fishing boat? Are/will there be ships for sailing the Undrenzee? (sailing the Undrenzee would be so awesome)

I appreciate any answers I get. Thanks all!

Biolab00
Arelith Platinum Supporter
Arelith Platinum Supporter

Re: Question about Ships vs Quarters

Post by Biolab00 » Thu Jan 26, 2023 6:02 pm

Melchizedek14 wrote:
Thu Jan 26, 2023 4:04 pm

I'm new to sailing and figuring it out. As such, I have questions...

1. Can I own a quarter and a ship? If not, I'm allowed to rent a ship, right? How long can I keep the rental?
  2. Can you own a ship and rent a ship?
  3. What happens to the permanent storage on a ship when it sinks?
  4. If you're boarded by other players, does the 1 item theft rule apply or can they take everything you've got?
  5. A ship I was on sank in a storm. The storm had a DC of 60! Did I hit a hurricane or are they all that strong? Does the storm damage roll use total crew skill or average crew skill?