how to write goooder

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

seppuku me senpai

how to write goooder

Post by seppuku me senpai » Fri Apr 23, 2021 11:23 pm

i thought it would be fun to share writing tips, as our platform really encourages a unique genre of collective creative writing.

share your HOT writing tips! favorite words you like! what even is a semi-colon? lets get nerdy.

:!: please avoid giving advice on how to write a character/plot/story, the purpose of this thread is to talk about writing itself, not storytelling! please be nice to each other :!:

some of my tips
disclaimer, I am not a professional, just passionate.

1.) Do you really need that adverb?
Adverbs are words that modify an adjective or verb, expressing a manner, circumstance, cause, degree, etc. modifying words are sometimes important, but over-use of adverbs such as "just", "only" "slightly" can end up weakening your narrative voice. "Just" and "Only" are the worst offenders to dampening the strength of your sentence and weaken your intent. Try to notice how often you incorporate adverbs in your writing- do you really need it there?

2.) I don't think that word means what you think it means.

A handful of pesky words and their definitions.
Bemused (adj): puzzled, confused, or bewildered.
Party in the Forest wrote:Likewise, bemused can mean confused, but it also means mild amusement, or amusement from something preplexing, which is how people usually use it.
According to dictionary.com,
adjective
bewildered or confused:
a bemused expression on his face.
lost in thought; preoccupied.
mildly amused, especially in a detached way.
And according to Meriam-Webster (with examples too!)
Definition of bemused
1: marked by confusion or bewilderment : DAZED
… he was fumbling with the sheets, and looking down at them with a slightly bemused expression as though the stuff before him was in a foreign language …
— Robert Penn Warren

2: lost in thought or reverie