Curiosity: how does people spend their awards

OOC General Discussion

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

xf1313

Curiosity: how does people spend their awards

Post by xf1313 » Fri Oct 29, 2021 12:20 am

I am still relatively new to Arelith, and met a few of the awarded race along the way. To be honest, the Major/Greater award races and perks appeared less appealing to me, since I lack the strong drive to rp a super special race. Something less common but unique feels great enough for me, I love my wild-elf Druid and won’t roll her for anything. She was created before update where wild-elf was free-for-all, well done to myself.

So the question about unlocking new race, is it unlocked for only one character or that race becomes accessible forever? I did not find explanation for this anywhere so I have to ask.

I think... I have a Normal Award, but unsure what to spend it on, Aquatic elf seems nice? A water breathing ranger or siren-voiced bard seems cool, suggestions? I cannot really deside on the character concept, or I should just hold on to the award and wait for the change?

And final question, where should I look for logging axes, gem hammer and mine picks? Exspecially gem hammer, really need one.

Wild-elf Druid Laurifin Goldenleaf
Drow shadowlord Lomin Nightshade

Kalimere

Re: Curiosity: how does people spend their awards

Post by Kalimere » Fri Oct 29, 2021 12:42 am

Back when I had a better imagination for more creative and inventive RP, I would have loved to jump on the chance to play special races, but nowadays I typically just spend my awards on ECL reductions to quicken my leveling rate. Though, with how the writs work now and the Adventure XP rate increase, ECL reductions arent as useful. So I dont know what I'm going to do with myself now.