The Creature, immersive audio play

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs

DM Symphony
Contributor
Contributor

The Creature, immersive audio play

Post by DM Symphony » Sat May 22, 2021 11:10 pm

Hey folks,

I haven't been as active in NWNSpace and Discord etc. recently, due to salvaging what started as a small side theater gig into a professional product.

I am primarily a sound and lighting designer/operator in teh rl, so the recent world events have been pretty devastating for the live performances my circles usually rely on for livelihood.

To that end a small theater company run primarily by a younger age group approached me last year with the idea of making an immersive audio drama using a local script based on Mary Shelley's Frankenstein. Since in teh rl, for some people, my name comes up whenever weird/sophisticated sound/music is needed, I joined the project to handle recording voiceover during zoom meetings.

We had California fire evacuations and network outages and health issues come up, and some complications with the composer and sound designer, roles I had turned down due to my new NWN:EE / Beamdog / Graphics / Models / etc. life, and we ended up temporarily scrapping the project after we finished recording and paying the actors.

Recently, I accepted their suggestion to handle music and sound effects etc, and started composing for the first time in my career, really, a few weeks ago.

It has been very difficult, most of the people involved are perfectionists, and given the absence of live staged drama available right now, we are determined to deliver a quality art effort to a broad audience without a ticket price, to be enjoyed in an auditorium of your choosing.

There is a heavy emphasis on immersive ambients and sound effects, binaural imaging, and dynamic orchestral instruments that are deeply intertwined with the delivery of nearly every line.