Any luck with non-strength rangers?

Discussions related to character builds and mechanics may occur here.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators

Waldo52

Any luck with non-strength rangers?

Post by Waldo52 » Fri Dec 16, 2022 7:23 pm

I've had some really mediocre experiences on the PGCC with dexterity based rangers. On the other hand my friend played a STR ranger that was an absolute meat grinder. One of the best glass cannons I've ever seen.

Do archers suck?

Do dex based TWF builds suck?

Are animal companions as weak late-game and for PvP as my PGCC experiences suggest?

Would anyone suggest building a non-strength ranger at all?

EDIT: I'm also wondering if any of the less obvious animal companion choices are worth taking. Especially the spider and regular wolf (yay, fear!). Guidance on weather or not to take the special feats that buff animal companions is also appreciated.

Cuchilla
Arelith Supporter
Arelith Supporter

Re: Any luck with non-strength rangers?

Post by Cuchilla » Fri Dec 16, 2022 8:38 pm

Not sure what you're after? I played a couple of almost pure dex based rangers. SPOILER: I am not even a decent builder!!!

Nevertheless, I loved playing them. They were the by far the best stealthers I've ever had. With the new feats they had recently - gorgeous! Added 5-6 rogue levels for chests, for max tumble (30) and UMD. And sneak attack.

As for archer: If you like tactical challenges (I do) to take down a spawn group one by one from the distance, they are great fun, and quite efficient. You can even keep yourself with arrows.

Companions? Forget about them, was my experience.

Good builders might ROFL, I don't care! :D

Aloise "Lois", Biarray "Ray", Uniethrade. INACTIVE: Ivory Bushdiggger DEAD: Cuchilla. Beliat, Clyasy. Cristyn. Fadriatta. Fraya Stensamler (Chief Librarian). Goirin. Greensleeves. Gwydynya. Hilda. Kaxandra. Trista. Willisa.

ReverentBlade

Post by ReverentBlade » Sat Dec 17, 2022 1:45 am