Snake Totem Feedback

An area to facilitate free-form feedback on systems (in-game or out) related to Arelith.

Moderators: Forum Moderators, Active DMs, Contributors

Waldo52

Snake Totem Feedback

Post by Waldo52 » Tue Sep 07, 2021 10:50 pm

Let me preface my feedback by saying I love the totem animal system for rangers. It's a real common sense reform that breathes new life into the same old ranger character sheets I've been rolling for almost two decades of neverwinter. I respect all the time and effort, the unpaid or underpaid coding work that goes into this game.

With that said, the snake is a bit of a let down. There are very few non-mammal options and the token reptile is just so tiny and nondescript. I've noticed snakes in the hex adjacent to the Sencliff graveyard (they were labelled as "eels" but I know a snake when I see it) that were larger and exponentially cooler looking. It would be one thing if we were stuck with the only model the game provided us but there's a superior option slithering around the game.

fading

Re: Snake Totem Feedback

Post by fading » Wed Sep 08, 2021 5:47 am

Totem druid/ranger are both pretty old systems that could use a bit of polish. Totem druid is so incredibly not worth it, immense drawback for an RP skin (the polymorph is terrible because it has no penetration, unless that was changed) and a few small goodies. People will still take it because they want to RP a certain kind of druid, I know I did, sewer rat druid is cool!

Some of the models are a bit rusty, at the top of my head, wolf, panther, snake, are the most egregious offenders. And wolf has a better model too! Not sure why the white one was chosen, I suppose it looks more mystical. The panther just looks so off that it makes me sad, I believe the leopard model is better looking though. I thought the rat model was nice.