Dire Maca visual and recipes

An area to facilitate free-form feedback on systems (in-game or out) related to Arelith.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators, Contributors

Rico_scorpion

Dire Maca visual and recipes

Post by Rico_scorpion » Thu Nov 11, 2021 5:03 pm

Hi,

A couple feedbacks on Dire Macas:

1a) Visually, they are extremely small for a two handed weapon. They really lack charisma and feel like a standard Maca. Doubling their visual size would do them justice.
1b) Correct me if i'm wrong, but i think weapon VFXs do not work on dire macas.
2) It doesn't exist in any NPC shop, so you HAVE to craft one. That would be more than okay, if not for 3) 4) and 5)
3) The level 1 version of the Dire Maca costs Obsidian. If you start on the surface, you won't see obsidian before level 10-12 (from my knowledge of the server which can be wrong, but i'm still a veteran, so we can safely assume every casual and newcomers will never get obsidian as well). I would suggest removing that Obsidian tax OR adding obsidian to a lowbie area on the Surface (like Skal).
4) Further levels of the crafted version have a "shaped obsidian tax" which means if you want to be autonomous (like a smith would be), you have to split your points with art crafting making it that much harder to craft one.
5) Obsidian (superior) requires an inferno scroll, which means either you're crazy lucky with loot, or you need to find a druid or shaman with scribe scroll. Good luck with that. I would suggest picking another arcane fire spell for flavor like firebrand, something like that.

But what's for sure is that It's very difficult, unless you're being twinked, to equip Dire Macas "on curve" contrary to every other smithing weapons. I get however that they can appear "slightly stronger" and as a consequence are harder to make, I'm okay with that (but even then, they compete with Falchion so... they better be much stronger than a greatsword anyway).

Cheers !

MRFTW

Re: Dire Maca visual and recipes