Invisible Blade Feedback

An area to facilitate free-form feedback on systems (in-game or out) related to Arelith.

Moderators: Active DMs, Forum Moderators, Contributors

magistrasa

Invisible Blade Feedback

Post by magistrasa » Mon May 08, 2023 12:17 pm

I built an Invisible Blade recently and I found myself thoroughly underwhelmed by pretty much every aspect of the class. It's currently about as close as one gets to the "Arcane Trickster" aesthetic, so I was quite determined to make it work, but in the end it really just felt like a completely pointless addition to my build. For context, I was previously a DEX-based rogue-heavy build with dual wield feats and a downright respectable AB. With 6 APR before Haste, I figured I could utilize the Bleed mechanics to their fullest potential. Before I started playing this character, I couldn't find a good reason to take 4 or 5 levels in the class instead of 3, and then as I was playing with the class and realizing just how negligible the damage it offered truly was, I found myself struggling to justify taking any levels at all. In the end, I dropped the levels from my build entirely and replaced them with something, anything, that gave me a bonus feat.

Class Features
Invisible Blade's mechanics are based around stacking Bleed counters on your enemies, and then using the Eviscerate ability to expend those stacks to deal extra damage. It also has a breach ability, on a 3-minute cooldown, that additionally subjects the target to 20% spell failure (okay, apparently double-checking the wiki it's JUST -5 Lore/UMD, it's even worse than I assumed). There's a third ability, Crippling Throw, which is a ranged touch attack that slows movement speed and adds a negligible amount of bleed stacks - but on top of having an Intelligence-based DC your enemies need to fail, it has truly abysmal range and seems to largely be a waste of time to use.